En Ru
Golden heritage
of Russia
Golden Ring
of Russia
Ростов Великий

Rostov the Great

Rostov takes one of the most important places in the Golden Ring of Russia. In spite of its old age – over 1000 years, this city remains interesting for the tourists thanks to its rich history and unique monuments of architectural and cultural heritage.

Read more
Ярославль

Yaroslavl

One of the oldest and the most beautiful Russian cities on the Volga river - Yaroslavl celebrates its millennium in 2010. The opinions of historians about the date of its foundation are different, but 1010 is considered to be the most correct. The city always played an important part in the history of Russia.

Read more
Сергиев Посад

Sergiev Posad

It had been known until quite recently under the name of Zagorsk. Sergiev Posad enters the number of towns, which enters the so called Golden Ring of Russia. It attracts many tourists because this is one of a few Russian cities full of ancient monuments.

Read more

Pereslavl

Pereslavl-Zalesky is the ancient town of the central Russia. It is located in the Yaroslavl region. Founded in 1152 by legendary Yury Dolgorukiy, it is a pearl of Golden Ring of Russia nowadays and attracts multiple tourists with its architecture and unique nature. Prerslavl-Zalesky is located on the bank of Plescheev Lake at the mouth of the Trubezh river.

Ancient Pereslavl was famous and rich. It was on the crossroad of trading routes. Yury Doloruky was attentive to the city. The town was in the very centre of state events. It is not for nothing that the name of the town means “taking fame”. Aleksandr Nevsky was born in this town and when tsar Ivan the Terrible ruled the country the town became a stronghold of oprichniks (members of special administrative elite)and one of the main strategic points of Moscow princedom. It was approximately at that time when the second word was added to the name of the town – Zalessky, which meant “located in area beyond the forest”.

The Little Boat of Peter the Great

The end of the 17th century brought extraordinary flourishing and revival to the city. Peter I who wanted to see his country in the range of the developed military countries, decided to build the navy. “Funny Fleet”, created thanks to his efforts, became the basis of the modern navy. The estate “The Little Boat of Peter the Great” reminds of these legendary events. Now the boat “Fortuna” is exhibited on its territory in the building constructed specially for it in the 1803. This is the most beautiful boat and the pride of “Funny Fleet”.

Pereslavl-Zalessky is famous for its monuments of church architecture. Several ancient monasteries are located on its territory and some of them are active until now.

Goritsky monastery

This is an ancient monastery and was built in the times of Ivan Kalita in the 16th century. The monastery is located on the hill and is seen from any point of the town. The museum of Arts and History is situated on its territory. There are a lot of relics of Russian culture in it: rare books and ancient letters, the pictures of Russian artists.

Troitsky monastery

The monastery was built in 1532 by monk Daniil who was the Godfather of the tsar Ivan the Terrible. The walls of the cathedral are decorated with unique paintings, which are admired by specialists and lovers of Russian culture and art until now. All buildings of the monastery are built in the one style and present the complete architectural ensemble.

Nikitsky monastery

This is the most ancient monastery in the city, the history of which started in the 12th century. He received big popularity thanks to the local miracle-worker Nikita Stolpnik, who was a monk in the monastery. Nikitsky monastery is an active monastery now.

Fedorovsky monastery

It became famous after tsar’s son Fyodor was born – the son of Russian tsar Ivan the Terrible. The monastery was built in the 12th century and in 1557 Ivan the Terrible ordered to erect the Cathedral of Fyodor Stratilat in the monastery in the honor if the son’s birthday.

Nikolsky convent

It was erected by Dmitry Prilutsky in 1348. It was completely destroyed in the Soviet years. It received the status of convent after restoration. There is a Cathedral of St. Nicolas the Miracle-Worker, the Peter and Paul’s church, Annunciation church of Saint God’s Mother.

Savior Transfiguration Cathedral

Savior Transfiguration Cathedral is one of the earliest monuments of Vladimir-Suzdal architecture. The son and grandson of great military leader Alexander Nevsky were buried in the Cathedral. Grateful citizens set a monument to Alexander Nevsky on the Red Square not far from the Cathedral.

The cultural and historical traditions are followed with care. Several museums located in Pereslavl-Zalesky can tell much about the handicrafts development and daily life of citizens.

  1. Museum of iron – the collection includes more than 170 irons of different forms. New exhibits are added to the collection constantly.
  2. Museum of tea-pots – the basis of exposition includes tea-pots, sugar-basins, tea containers – everything people used for tea drinking in the 19th-20th century.
  3. The museum of handicrafts – articles used daily are represented here and appliances for handicrafts of the past.

The Berendey House is very popular with guests of the city. This is the centre of handicrafts and traditions preservation. The folklore, entertaining and training programs are held constantly there. Those who wish to taste the dishes of Russian cuisine can come to the cozy café which is located on its territory.

The nature of Pereslavl-Zalesky is worth speaking about and one of the advantages of this place. Pereslavsky National park was founded on the territory of the city in 1988 for preservation of its beauty and uniqueness. Plescheev lake, covered with legends, is a vivid example of natural sights of the region. It is located at the foot of Alexandrov mountain, which is more famous under the name “Yarilina plesh” (“Bald patch of the Sun God”). It was used for Pagan rites. The name came from it (Yarilo is a god of fertility for ancient Slavs). Yarilina plesh was a pagan shrine and it is still a place of pilgrimage for many tourists. Famous Blue Stone can be found at the foot of the mountain. It is a big boulder of 12 tons, which was brought here by the glacier. It is considered that those who touch the Blue Stone will have their cherished dream fulfilled.

There are a lot of those who wish to touch the miracle and Blue Stone. But it slowly goes into the ground, probably tired of hassle of this world or probably under the influence of earth attraction.

Ancient city Pereslavl-Zalessky has kept the richness of virgin nature and a great number of Russian culture monuments.

It is able to amaze: Peter’s boat will tell about the history of Russian military might, Yarilina bold patch will let feel the wonder and ancient churches will give piece to every soul, which wants to find piece and find and gain strength.

En Ru
Золотое наследие
Земли Русской
Золотое кольцо России
Ростов Великий

Ростов Великий

В созвездии городов, составляющих "Золотое кольцо" Ростов Великий занимает по праву одно из главных мест. Несмотря на свой солидный возраст – более 1000 лет, этот город по-прежнему остается интересным для туристов, благодаря своей богатой истории и уникальным памятникам архитектурного и культурного наследия.

Подробнее
Ярославль

Ярославль

Один из старейших и красивейших русских городов на Волге – Ярославль, отмечающий в 2010 г свое тысячелетие. Мнения историков о годе основания города расходятся, но 1010 г считается наиболее достоверной датой. Город всегда играл важную роль в российской истории.

Подробнее
Сергиев Посад

Сергиев Посад

Этот город, до недавних пор носивший имя Загорск, расположен на расстоянии семидесяти километров от столицы. Он входит в число древних городов, образующих так называемое Золотое Кольцо России. Сергиев Посад привлекает туристов тем, что, пожалуй, это один из немногих русских городов, столь насыщенный памятниками старины.

Подробнее

Переславль-Залесский

Переславль-Залесский – древнейший город центральной России, находится на юге Ярославской области. Основанный в 1152 году легендарным Юрием Долгоруким, сегодня город является жемчужиной Золотого кольца России, привлекая многочисленных туристов и гостей своей архитектурой и уникальной природой. Располагается Переславль - Залесский на берегу Плещеева озера, в устье реки Трубеж.

Древний Переславль был знаменит и зажиточен. Находившийся на пересечении торговых путей, обласканный вниманием Юрия Долгорукого, город был в самом центре государственных событий. Недаром его название с древнерусского языка переводится гордым словосочетанием: "перенявший славу". В Переславле-Залесском родился Александр Невский, а во времена правления Ивана Грозного город стал оплотом царских опричников и одним из главных стратегических пунктов Московского княжества. Примерно в этот период к названию города добавилось второе слово – Залесский, которое обозначало "находящийся в Залесье".

Ботик Петра

Конец 17-го века принес городу небывалый расцвет и оживление. Петр I, желающий видеть свою страну в первых рядах развитых военных государств, решил построить флот. "Потешная флотилия", созданная благодаря его стараниям, положила начало великому русскому флоту. Об этих легендарных событиях напоминает усадьба Ботик Петра, на территории которой, в специально выстроенном в 1803 г. здании, экспонируется краса и гордость "потешного флота" - сохранившийся до наших дней бот "Фортуна".

Славится Переславль-Залесский и своими памятниками церковного зодчества. На его территории находится несколько древних монастырей, некоторые из них до сих пор являются действующими.

Горицкий монастырь

Очень древний монастырь, был возведен еще при Иване Калите в ХVI в. Монастырь находится на возвышенности и виден с любой точки города. На его территории располагается Историко-художественный музей, в котором хранится множество реликвий русской культуры: редкие книги и старинные грамоты, картины российских художников.

Троицкий монастырь

Монастырь был заложен в 1532 г. крестным отцом Ивана Грозного иноком Даниилом. В ХVII в. стены собора были расписаны уникальными фресками, которые до сих пор восхищают специалистов и ценителей русской культуры и живописи. Все здания древнего монастыря выстроены в едином стиле и представляют целостный архитектурный ансамбль.

Никитский монастырь

Это самый древний монастырь в городе, ведущий свою историю с ХII в. Широкую известность он получил благодаря местному чудотворцу Никите Столпнику, который был иноком в монастыре. На сегодняшний день Никитский монастырь является действующим мужским монастырем.

Федоровский монастырь

Стал знаменит после рождения царевича Федора – сына Ивана Грозного. Монастырь был построен в ХII в., а в 1557 г., в честь рождения наследника, Иван Грозный повелел возвести в монастыре собор Федора Стратилата.

Никольский монастырь

Возведен в 1348 г. Дмитрием Прилуцким. В советские годы был полностью разрушен. После реставрации получил статус женского монастыря. Сейчас на его территории находятся собор Николая Чудотворца, церковь Петра и Павла, церковь Благовещения Пресвятой Богородицы.

Спасо-Преображенский собор

Спасо-Преображенский собор - один из самых ранних памятников Владимиро-Суздальского архитектурного зодчества. В соборе нашли свое последнее пристанище сын и внук великого полководца Александра Невского. А ему самому благодарные горожане установили памятник на Красной площади недалеко от собора.

В городе бережно хранят культурные и исторические традиции. Несколько музеев, расположенных в Переславле-Залесском могут многое рассказать о развитии ремесел и бытовой стороне жизни горожан.

  1. Музей утюга – коллекция музея включает более 170 утюгов разной формы. Она постоянно пополняется за счет новых экспонатов.
  2. Музей чайника – основу экспозиции составляют чайники, сахарницы, баночки для хранения чая – все то, чем пользовались горожане при чаепитии в ХIХ – ХХ вв.
  3. Музей ремесел – здесь представлены предметы быта, инструменты и приспособления для народных ремесел прошлого времени.

Большой популярностью среди местных жителей и приезжих пользуется Дом Берендея – центр сохранения народных промыслов и традиций. Там постоянно проводятся фольклорные, развлекательные и обучающие программы, а желающие отведать русскую кухню могут зайти в уютное кафе, расположенное на его территории.

Природа Переславля-Залесского заслуживает особенного разговора и представляет одно из главных богатств этого края. Для сохранения ее красоты и уникальности в 1988 г. на территории города был основан Переславский национальный парк. А Плещеевское озеро, овеянное легендами и сказаниями, является ярким образцом природных достопримечательностей края. Располагается оно у подножья Александровой горы, больше известной под названием "Ярилина плешь". Использовалась гора для совершения языческих обрядов, отсюда произошло и название (Ярило – бог плодородия древних славян). Ярилина плешь была капищем, она до сих пор является местом паломничества туристов. У подножья горы лежит знаменитый Синий камень, огромный 12-тонный валун, принесенный сюда древним ледником. Считается, что дотронувшийся до Синего камня получит исполнение своей самой заветной мечты.

Желающих прикоснуться к чуду очень много, и Синий камень, то ли устав от мирской суеты, то ли под воздействием обычного земного притяжения, медленно, но верно уходит под землю.

Вот такой он, древний город Переславль-Залесский, до сих пор сохранивший богатство первозданной природы и множество памятников русской культуры. Ему есть чем удивить: Ботик Петра расскажет о зарождении военной мощи России, Ярилина плешь позволит прикоснуться к чудесному, а древние храмы дадут покой каждой душе, желающей отдохнуть и набраться новых сил.