En Ru
Golden heritage
of Russia
Golden Ring
of Russia
Ростов Великий

Rostov the Great

Rostov takes one of the most important places in the Golden Ring of Russia. In spite of its old age – over 1000 years, this city remains interesting for the tourists thanks to its rich history and unique monuments of architectural and cultural heritage.

Read more
Ярославль

Yaroslavl

One of the oldest and the most beautiful Russian cities on the Volga river - Yaroslavl celebrates its millennium in 2010. The opinions of historians about the date of its foundation are different, but 1010 is considered to be the most correct. The city always played an important part in the history of Russia.

Read more
Сергиев Посад

Sergiev Posad

It had been known until quite recently under the name of Zagorsk. Sergiev Posad enters the number of towns, which enters the so called Golden Ring of Russia. It attracts many tourists because this is one of a few Russian cities full of ancient monuments.

Read more

Rostov the Great

Rostov takes one of the most important places in the Golden Ring of Russia. In spite of its old age – over 1000 years, this city remains interesting for the tourists thanks to its rich history and unique monuments of architectural and cultural heritage. Rostov the Great is of the same age as Kiev or Novgorod and its first mention is connected with one of the Ruriks – the one who was at the beginning of Russian princes’ dynasty.

Rostov appeared on the land, which belonged to Merya tribe. The legend tells that Rost, the founder of the city, did not rack his brain over the name of the city and just called it his name. We hear about it for the first time from records of 862, and from the 12th century the city received the second word to the name – Veliky (the Great). The source tells much about the time of formation of Rostov the Great, involving the main milestones of its history. It is known that warriors of the city under the leadership of Oleg participated in the military campaign against Tsargrad and contributed to Kulikov battle.

People of Rostov were baptized in 991, the first in Russia Episcopal chair. The city was always in the centre of political and religious events, and was always in the centre of attention of tsars and great princes. It is enough to name a few famous rulers living there: Yarolav the Wise, Vladimir Monomakh, Yury Dolgoruky. A lot of churches and monasteries were erected in Rostov, but the considerable part of cultural and architectural values was lost forever because of the constant wars, attacks and fires. The city was almost completely destroyed during Polish-Lithuanian war of the 17th century, but the intensive restoration and construction works started then, many of which remained until now. The amateurs of the old can visit many interesting architectural monuments in Rostov and fantastic ringing of ancient bells will not leave anybody indifferent to this nice city.

Rostov Kremlin

The Kremlin of Rostov takes special place among the old monuments of the city. By the way, many know the way it looks as it was shown in the famous Russian film “Ivan Vasilievich changes the job”. The film was made there. The Kremlin dates back to the 17th century when the Rostov bell-tower was built. Its main bell weighs 32 tons. The oldest part of the Rostov Kremlin is the Dormition Cathedral, which is located on Sobornaya square.

Savior- St. Jacob and St. Dmitry monastery

The earliest church of the monastery, the Church of Anna's Conceiving was built in 1386 and it was surrounded by the stone walls at the end of the 18th century. The Dmitriev cathedral built on money of the earl Sheremetiev in 1795-1802 is the main building of the monastery and the visiting card in its way of Rostov the Great – this is the first cathedral, which meets the guests of the city, who arrive from Moscow direction.

Epiphany Abraham monastery

According to the legend, the monastery was founded by Abraham in the 11th century just on the place where he destroyed the idol Volos with the help of St. John the Divine’s rod. The Epiphany Cathedral is located on the territory of the monastery. It was built on decree of Russian tsar Ivan the Terrible in the 16th century and took place after victory over Kazan.

Trinity-Sergiev Varnitsky monastery

Located not far Rostov this old monastery was built in 1427 to honor the Russian saint Sergey Radonezhsky, who was originally from this city. After revolution the monastery was almost completely destroyed and its restoration started in 1995 after it became the property of church.

The Birth of Christ convent

It was founded in the 14th century by the nephew of Sergey Radonezhsky archbishop Fyodor. The cathedral was rebuilt several times and in 1715 its walls were decorated by paintings made to proclaim Mother’s God. Today it functions as a convent and is guarded by the state as architectural monument.

St Peter monastery

It was founded by prince Ordynsky, who took up the name Peter after he was baptized. The church was erected on the decree of the disciples of Peter and Paul, who came to him in a dream and pointed to the place near the lake.

The lake Nero on the bank of which Rostov the Great is located can also be called a sight of the city. The name of the lake is translated from the language of local tribe Merya as “boggy, marshy, slimy.” Actually, though the lake is not deep, the depth of the slimy bottom reaches 20 meters in some places. The lake Nero has the glacial origin and its age in the experts’ opinion is 500 thousand years old. It was full of water before and connected Rostov the Great with the Volga river. Today this is a favorite place of rest for lovers of fishing and a natural observation point. Those who go boating there can see a panorama of the city.

Telling about this nice Russian city, one should mention also unique masters and artisans, who made Rostov famous with their articles of black clay and miniature painting on enamel , which is mentioned in 1175 in the Ipatiev record. Every guest of the city is going to leave the place with good impressions and gifts that will remind about Rostov the Great, the ancient city with wonderful historic traditions.

En Ru
Золотое наследие
Земли Русской
Золотое кольцо России
Ростов Великий

Ростов Великий

В созвездии городов, составляющих "Золотое кольцо" Ростов Великий занимает по праву одно из главных мест. Несмотря на свой солидный возраст – более 1000 лет, этот город по-прежнему остается интересным для туристов, благодаря своей богатой истории и уникальным памятникам архитектурного и культурного наследия.

Подробнее
Ярославль

Ярославль

Один из старейших и красивейших русских городов на Волге – Ярославль, отмечающий в 2010 г свое тысячелетие. Мнения историков о годе основания города расходятся, но 1010 г считается наиболее достоверной датой. Город всегда играл важную роль в российской истории.

Подробнее
Сергиев Посад

Сергиев Посад

Этот город, до недавних пор носивший имя Загорск, расположен на расстоянии семидесяти километров от столицы. Он входит в число древних городов, образующих так называемое Золотое Кольцо России. Сергиев Посад привлекает туристов тем, что, пожалуй, это один из немногих русских городов, столь насыщенный памятниками старины.

Подробнее

Ростов Великий

В созвездии городов, составляющих "Золотое кольцо" Ростов Великий занимает по праву одно из главных мест. Несмотря на свой солидный возраст – более 1000 лет, этот город по-прежнему остается интересным для туристов, благодаря своей богатой истории и уникальным памятникам архитектурного и культурного наследия. Ростов Великий является ровесником Новгорода и Киева, первое упоминание о нем связано со знаменитым Рюриком – родоначальником русских князей.

Ростов возник на землях, принадлежавших Меря - финно-угорскому племени. Легенда гласит, что Рост, основатель города, не стал долго ломать голову над названием и нарек его своим именем. Первое упоминание Ростова мы встречаем в киевских летописях 862 г., а с 12 в. город уже получил к своему основному названию гордую приставку Великий. Летописные источники много рассказывают о времени становления Ростова Великого, затрагивая основные вехи его истории. Известно, что воины города под руководством легендарного князя Олега участвовали в походах на Царьград, внесли свою лепту в Куликовскую битву.

В 991 г. произошло крещение жителей Ростова, была основана первая на Руси Епископская кафедра. Город всегда находился в центре политических и религиозных событий, был избалован вниманием царей и великих князей. Достаточно назвать имена только некоторых известных правителей, княживших в нем: Ярослав Мудрый, Владимир Мономах, Юрий Долгорукий. За всю историю существования в Ростове было возведено множество церквей и монастырей, однако, из-за постоянных войн, нашествий и пожаров значительная часть культурных и архитектурных ценностей была безвозвратно утеряна. Во время последней, польско-литовской войны 17 в. город был практически уничтожен, и с этого времени началось интенсивное восстановление и строительство монастырей и храмов, многие из которых сохранились до наших дней. Любители старины смогут посетить в Ростове множество интересных архитектурных памятников, а великолепный звон древних колоколов ростовской звонницы не оставит равнодушным ни одного гостя этого славного города.

Ростовский Кремль

Особое место среди многочисленных памятников старины в Ростове занимает Ростовский Кремль. Кстати, многие знакомы с его внешним видом по знаменитому фильму "Иван Васильевич меняет профессию", который снимался в его стенах. Свою историю знаменитый Кремль ведет с 17 в., тогда же была сооружена и ростовская звонница, главный колокол которой весит 32 тонны. Древнейшей достопримечательностью Ростовского Кремля по праву считается Успенский собор, который располагается на Соборной площади.

Спасо-Яковлевский Дмитриев монастырь

Самый ранний храм монастыря, церковь Зачатия св. Анны был возведен в 1386 г., а в конце 18 в. монастырь огородили каменными стенами. Дмитриевский храм, построенный на средства графа Шереметьева в 1795-1802 гг., является главной постройкой монастыря и своеобразной визитной карточкой Ростова Великого – это первый храм, который встречает гостей, прибывающих в город со стороны московского направления.

Богоявленский Авраамиев монастырь

По легенде, монастырь основал преподобный Авраамий в 11 в., на том самом месте, где он с помощью жезла Иоанна Богослова разрушил языческого идола бога Велеса. На территории монастыря находится Богоявленский собор, возведенный по указу Ивана Грозного в 16 в. после победного похода на Казань.

Троице-Сергиев Варницкий монастырь

Расположенный недалеко от Ростова этот старейший монастырь был возведен в честь русского святого, выходца этого славного города Сергия Радонежского в 1427 г. После революции монастырь был почти полностью разрушен, его восстановление началось с 1995 г., после передачи во владение церкви.

Рождество-Богородицкий монастырь

Был основан в 14 в. племянником Сергия Радонежского архиепископом Федором. Собор неоднократно перестраивался, а в 1715 г. его стены были украшены фресками, написанными во славу Богородицы. Сегодня он является действующим женскими монастырем и находится под охраной государства как архитектурный памятник.

Петровский монастырь

Был основан в 13 в. царевичем Ордынским, взявшим после православного крещения имя Петра. Храм был возведен по велению апостолов Петра и Павла, явившихся ему во сне и указавших место на берегу озера.

Озеро Неро, на берегу которого расположился Ростов Великий, можно смело присоединить к достопримечательностям этого края. Название озера с языка племени Меря переводится как "болотистое, тинистое". На самом деле, при относительно маленькой глубине толщина илистого дна озера в некоторых местах достигает 20 метров. Озеро Неро имеет ледниковое происхождение, по мнению экспертов, его возраст насчитывает около 500 тысяч лет. Когда-то оно было полноводным и соединяло Ростов Великий с Волгой, а сегодня является прекрасным местом отдыха для любителей рыбалки и естественной смотровой площадкой, с которой катающимся на лодках открывается прекрасная панорама города.

Рассказывая об этом славном российском городе, нельзя не упомянуть об уникальных мастерах и народных умельцах, прославивших Ростов своими изделиями из чернолощеной глины и миниатюрной росписью по эмали – финифтью, которая упоминается еще в 1175 г. в Ипатьевской летописи. Каждый гость обязательно уедет с хорошими впечатлениями и подарками, которые будут напоминать о Великом Ростове, древнем городе со славными историческими традициями.