En Ru
Golden heritage
of Russia
Golden Ring
of Russia
Ростов Великий

Rostov the Great

Rostov takes one of the most important places in the Golden Ring of Russia. In spite of its old age – over 1000 years, this city remains interesting for the tourists thanks to its rich history and unique monuments of architectural and cultural heritage.

Read more
Ярославль

Yaroslavl

One of the oldest and the most beautiful Russian cities on the Volga river - Yaroslavl celebrates its millennium in 2010. The opinions of historians about the date of its foundation are different, but 1010 is considered to be the most correct. The city always played an important part in the history of Russia.

Read more
Сергиев Посад

Sergiev Posad

It had been known until quite recently under the name of Zagorsk. Sergiev Posad enters the number of towns, which enters the so called Golden Ring of Russia. It attracts many tourists because this is one of a few Russian cities full of ancient monuments.

Read more

Sergiev Posad

Sergiev Posad is the city, located 70 km from Moscow. It had been known until quite recently under the name of Zagorsk. Sergiev Posad enters the number of towns, which enters the so called Golden Ring of Russia. It attracts many tourists because this is one of a few Russian cities full of ancient monuments.

The main attraction of Sergiev Posad is a famous for the Holy Trinity-St. Sergius Lavra. According to legend, its founder was Saint Sergiy Radonezhskiy in the XIVth century. It was initially known as a Monastery of Lifegiving Trinity. This monastery today is one of the biggest in Russia. Lavra is a citadel of the Orthodox faith and its rich culture is a vivid confirmation of this fact. The Holy Trinity-St. Sergius Lavra was the place of Ivan the Terrible’s baptism. Saint Sergiy Radonezhsky blessed Dmitriy Donskoi in its walls before the Kulikov battle. Modern walls of Lavra stood the siege many times, but the holy place was not conquered. There is a legend that the ghost of the old wall is seen on certain days of summer solstice. It faces the square at that with the cannonballs stuck in it.

In the beginning of the XVIIth century the Holy Trinity-St. Sergius Lavra was under siege of Polish-Lithuanian troop, which numbered thirty thousand warriors. The number of defenders was not more than three thousand. The courage of those who defended the sacred place was really unmatched. Pluck of people under siege increased when monastery founder’s spirit of Sergey Radonezhsky and other saints came to them. This was a final contribution to the victory of the Orthodox citadel. There is a legend that system of underground passages connects the monasteries of the place between each other, therefore the monastery can be considered a unique fortification construction. There are about fifty historical monuments, each of which has inimitable historical peculiarity.

Among the historical sights of the Holy Trinity-St. Sergius Lavra – is the Assumption of Virgin Cathedral which is open on fixed hours. It is known for being built in the middle of the XVI century on decree of Russian tsar Ivan IV, also recognized as Ivan the Terrible. The reason for its construction was annexation of Kazan and Astrakhan khanates to Rus. You can see the Godunov’s tomb near the cathedral. The remnants of Boris Godunov, first non-Rurikid tsar, and his wife Mary lie there. Burial vaults of metropolitans had been buried at the place since XVII century.

Besides, there is a spring with holy water near the cathedral that you can gather in the well, placed in the clock-tower and in the cross. The holly water flows from the cross into the pool. There are also remnants of saint Sergey Radonezhsky on the territory of the Holy Trinity-St. Sergius Lavra. Thousands of pilgrims from all over the world come here to touch the shrine.

It is worthwhile mentioning that in addition to its historical meaning the Holy Trinity-St. Sergius Lavra plays an important role in the modern spiritual life of Russia. There is a theological seminary within its walls. The activity of Moscow theological seminary is closely connected with Lavra. Moscow theological seminary was transferred to Lavra from Moscow after the fire in the capital, caused by Napoleon invasion of 1812.

Savva Storozhesky spring is of big interest for tourists and travelers. According to legend, saint Savva created this spring near the Trinity monastery wall by the power of his prayer. At the end of the last century the clock-tower and font basin were added to this spring.

It is worthwhile mentioning one more place of interest as you go on excursion tour in Sergiev Posad – famous Pushkin well. Situated not long from Lavra, this well is famous for being found by Sergiy Radonezhsky. He took water from it every day and brought it to his brothers in Christ. In the middle centuries the clock-tower is built on this place, which has the name of Pyatnitsky well with open well inside it. Pyatnitsky town church is situated not far from the place, where you can see historic landmarks of XVI century –Pyatnitskaya and Vvedenskaya churches.

The city is considered to be a motherland of famous matreshka, one of the symbols of Russia. These funny painted dolls can be acquired in the souvenir shops and in the stalls. Apart from matreshkas, Sergiev Posad is known for its toys handicrafts. According to legend the first toys were created by the founder of the monastery Sergiy Radonezhsky. You can have a look at the unique collection in the museum of toy, which is also a place of interest in Sergiev Posad.

En Ru
Золотое наследие
Земли Русской
Золотое кольцо России
Ростов Великий

Ростов Великий

В созвездии городов, составляющих "Золотое кольцо" Ростов Великий занимает по праву одно из главных мест. Несмотря на свой солидный возраст – более 1000 лет, этот город по-прежнему остается интересным для туристов, благодаря своей богатой истории и уникальным памятникам архитектурного и культурного наследия.

Подробнее
Ярославль

Ярославль

Один из старейших и красивейших русских городов на Волге – Ярославль, отмечающий в 2010 г свое тысячелетие. Мнения историков о годе основания города расходятся, но 1010 г считается наиболее достоверной датой. Город всегда играл важную роль в российской истории.

Подробнее
Сергиев Посад

Сергиев Посад

Этот город, до недавних пор носивший имя Загорск, расположен на расстоянии семидесяти километров от столицы. Он входит в число древних городов, образующих так называемое Золотое Кольцо России. Сергиев Посад привлекает туристов тем, что, пожалуй, это один из немногих русских городов, столь насыщенный памятниками старины.

Подробнее

Сергиев Посад

Этот город, до недавних пор носивший имя Загорск, расположен на расстоянии семидесяти километров от столицы. Он входит в число древних городов, образующих так называемое Золотое Кольцо России. Сергиев Посад привлекает многочисленных туристов тем, что, пожалуй, это один из немногих русских городов, столь насыщенный памятниками старины.

Главной достопримечательностью Сергиева Посада, конечно же, является знаменитая Свято – Троицкая Сергиева Лавра. По преданию, основателем ее был сам преподобный Сергий Радонежский в четырнадцатом веке. Первоначально она была известна под именем обители Живоначальной Троицы. Этот монастырь сегодня – один из самых больших в России. С давних времен Лавра считается цитаделью православной веры, и ее богатейшая история является наглядным подтверждением этому факту. Свято – Троицкая Сергиева Лавра была местом крещения Ивана Грозного. Именно в ее стенах преподобный Сергий Радонежский дал благословение Дмитрию Донскому перед Куликовской битвой. Современные стены Лавры множество раз осаждали, но ни разу святыня не покорилась захватчикам. Существует легенда о том, что в определенные дни летнего солнцестояния можно видеть призрак старой стены города, выходящей на площадь, с застрявшими в ней в пушечными ядрами.

В начале семнадцатого века Свято – Троицкая Сергиева Лавра подвергалась осаде польско-литовского войска, которое насчитывало более тридцати тысяч человек, а число защитников монастыря при этом не превышало трех тысяч. Мужество обороняющих святыню было поистине беспримерным, а укреплялся дух осажденных явлениями основателя обители Сергия Радонежского и других святых, которые, в конце концов, способствовали победе защитников православной цитадели.

Есть предание, что с древних времен Свято – Троицкую Сергиеву Лавру связывает с окрестными монастырями система подземных ходов, так что монастырь с полным правом можно считать и уникальным фортификационным сооружением. В составе комплекса строений Лавры имеется почти полсотни исторических памятников, каждый из которых отличает неповторимое историческое своеобразие.

Среди достопримечательностей Свято – Троицкой Сергиевой Лавры – собор Успения Богородицы, который открыт для посещения в установленные часы. Он примечателен тем, что был построен в середине XVI века по указу Ивана Четвертого. Поводом для возведения храма послужило присоединение двух ханств – Астраханского и Казанского – к российским землям. Рядом с собором расположена гробница Годуновых. Там покоится прах самого Бориса Годунова и его супруги Марии. Здесь же находятся усыпальницы митрополитов, которых стали хоронить в этом месте начиная с XVII века.

Кроме того, около собора имеется источник со святой водой, которую можно набрать как в кладезе, находящемся в часовне, так и в расположенном тут же кресте, где святая вода стекает в особый бассейн. На территории Свято – Троицкой Сергиевой Лавры покоятся мощи преподобного Сергия Радонежского. Чтобы прикоснуться к святыне, ежедневно сюда приходят тысячи паломников со всего света.

Следует отметить, что помимо своего исторического значения Свято – Троицкая Сергиева Лавра играет важную роль и в современной духовной жизни России. В частности, в ее стенах действует духовная семинария. Неразрывно связана с Лаврой и деятельность Московской духовной академии, которая была перенесена в Лавру после пожара Москвы, связанного с наполеоновским нашествием в 1812 году.

Большой интерес для туристов и путешественников представляет также источник, носящий имя Саввы Сторожевского. Согласно легенде, преподобный Савва силой молитвы явил этот источник воды у стены Троицкого монастыря. В конце прошлого века этот ключ обрел собственную часовню и купель.

Также примечателен еще один пункт экскурсионной программы по Сергиевому Посаду - знаменитый Пятницкий колодец. Находящийся неподалеку от Лавры, этот колодец знаменит тем, что, как гласит предание, его нашел Сергий Радонежский. Преподобный каждый день брал в этом роднике воду и носил ее братии. В средние века в этом месте была построена часовня, носящая имя Пятницкого колодца, внутри которой располагался открытый колодец. Неподалеку расположено Пятницкое подворье, где расположены памятники архитектуры, относящиеся к XVI веку – церкви Пятницкая и Введенская.

Город по праву считается родиной всем известной матрешки, ставшей одним из символов России. Эти забавные расписные изделия можно приобрести в сувенирных магазинах и на лотках. Кроме матрешек, Сергиев Посад известен своими игрушечными промыслами. Согласно легенде первые игрушки изготовил сам основатель монастыря преподобный Сергий Радонежский. Посмотреть уникальную коллекцию можно в музее игрушки, который также является достопримечательностью Сергиева Посада.