En Ru
Golden heritage
of Russia
Golden Ring
of Russia
Ростов Великий

Rostov the Great

Rostov takes one of the most important places in the Golden Ring of Russia. In spite of its old age – over 1000 years, this city remains interesting for the tourists thanks to its rich history and unique monuments of architectural and cultural heritage.

Read more
Ярославль

Yaroslavl

One of the oldest and the most beautiful Russian cities on the Volga river - Yaroslavl celebrates its millennium in 2010. The opinions of historians about the date of its foundation are different, but 1010 is considered to be the most correct. The city always played an important part in the history of Russia.

Read more
Сергиев Посад

Sergiev Posad

It had been known until quite recently under the name of Zagorsk. Sergiev Posad enters the number of towns, which enters the so called Golden Ring of Russia. It attracts many tourists because this is one of a few Russian cities full of ancient monuments.

Read more

Suzdal

Suzdal is a tourist centre of the Golden Ring of Russia. It is hard to enumerate all sights of the city. A lot of historical monuments, five monasteries and several dozens of churches and cathedrals that remained until now make Suzdal the city reserve, which keeps its ancient topography with care and inexpressible coloring of Russian architecture. There are no industrial enterprises in the city, the construction of tall buildings is forbidden. The unique skills of Russian architects, who created a lot of monuments and buildings for us, are shown in all beauty this way.

Suzdal is located on the picturesque bank of the Kamenka river. The trade route of ancient Russia passed here before. When Yury Dolgorukiy ruled, the city was granted with the capital status. It became the capital of Vladimir-Suzdal Princedom and Moscow was one of its fortresses, needed for the protection of the princedom. The exact date of foundation is not known, but the first mention of the city was in 1024. According to the historical data, the construction of the Kremlin in the mouth of the Kamenka river started in the 11th-12th century. The Kremlin was surrounded by dirt walls with watch towers. On the order of Vladimir Monomakh the Dormition of the Mother of God Cathedral was erected in the centre of Suzdal Kremlin. This is one of the most ancient architectural monuments in Russia.

The most successful time for Suzdal development was the first half of the 12th century. The merchants’ layer grew, and eastern trade routes developed. New workshops and trade shops appeared, which formed an independent suburb – Posad or a trading quarter. Yury Dolgoruky (that means “long hands”) was called this way because of his constant wish to conquer other lands, built the fortress not far from the city with the goal of protection – Kideksha. Church of Boris and Gleb was built on its territory in 1152. It was called so after his ancestors who were canonized. It was the first sample of white stone architecture on the north-east of Russia. The traditions of church construction were followed by other rulers of Suzdal too.

The following years became tragic in the history of this ancient Russian city. In 1238 it was conquered by Tatars and only small part of all citizens was able to hide behind the walls of the Monastery of Deposition of the Robe. The city was fired and plundered, the population was enslaved and taken away to the Horde. Those who remained alive built the city anew in the course of 15 years. Big attention at this is paid to the construction of churches and monasteries. This way the Aleksandrovsky monastery appeared on the bank of the Kamenka river, and then in the eastern part of the city Vasilievsky monastery, and not far from the Monastery of Deposition of the Robe – Trinity monastery. Though the political influence of Suzdal became weaker with each year, the religious influence grew. The city becomes the center of episcopacy and from 1507 after the remains of St Evfimy became public, it became the centre of religious pilgrims. The Orthodox came from the whole Russia, the monasteries became richer and the construction of stone buildings for different purposes started in Suzdal. For instance, the Convent of the Intercession of the Mother of God was used as a prison for women from tsar or boyar family out of favor. They were brought for death penalty to Suzdal.

The 17th century brought many troubles to the city. From 1608 it was under the pressure of Polish-Lithuanian invaders and from 1611 it became free due to Minin and Pozharsky troops. In 1634 it was plundered by Tatars and 9 years later a big fire took place in Suzdal. Buildings, which remained after military attacks, were burnt then. To make the matters worse, plaque of the second half of the 17th century killed the half of the city population. Those who survived erected the clock-tower to remember this event, which was later changed by Holy Cross Nikolsky Church of stone. When Peter I comes to power the influence of monasteries and churches becomes considerably weaker, but Suzdal remains the mighty religious centre. The stream of pilgrims does not cease and this lets the authorities of the city continue construction of stone churches and bell towers. In 1707 the Jerusalem Entrance church and Tsar-Constantine church are built, a little later Resurrection church, John the Baptist and the Church of Consolation of all the Afflicted are built. In 1772 Pyatnitskaya church is built.

Now Suzdal is a big tourist centre and is a part of Vladimir-Suzdal Museum Reserve. Many buildings entered UNESCO World Heritage list as monuments of ancient Russia. There are a lot of interesting expositions and museums telling about the history of Suzdal and life of its citizens.

The house of a peasant of average means. This is a typical for that time house of the 19th century. The interior of that time is recreated there and the details of daily life are reconstituted. The yard has a complex of household buildings. The house of merchant Likhonin is created on the same principle and presents the merchant house, built in the 18th century.

The museum of wooden architecture and peasant daily life. It was built based on the buildings of 17-19th centuries brought from different places of Suzdal and Vladimir regions to the bank of the Kamenka river. The items of the daily village life and articles used then are preserved in them.

Though the city was destroyed many times throughout the history and suffered from fires, it was restored and keeps its historical and cultural roots. Yury Dolgoruky, Vladimir Monomakh, Aleksandr Nevsky, and Dmitry Pozharsky – many famous people were this or that way connected with Suzdal land. There are all conditions for interesting rest in the city now: wonderful nature, museums and monuments, comfortable hotels - Suzdal is ready to meet its guests in accordance with traditions of Russian hospitality.

En Ru
Золотое наследие
Земли Русской
Золотое кольцо России
Ростов Великий

Ростов Великий

В созвездии городов, составляющих "Золотое кольцо" Ростов Великий занимает по праву одно из главных мест. Несмотря на свой солидный возраст – более 1000 лет, этот город по-прежнему остается интересным для туристов, благодаря своей богатой истории и уникальным памятникам архитектурного и культурного наследия.

Подробнее
Ярославль

Ярославль

Один из старейших и красивейших русских городов на Волге – Ярославль, отмечающий в 2010 г свое тысячелетие. Мнения историков о годе основания города расходятся, но 1010 г считается наиболее достоверной датой. Город всегда играл важную роль в российской истории.

Подробнее
Сергиев Посад

Сергиев Посад

Этот город, до недавних пор носивший имя Загорск, расположен на расстоянии семидесяти километров от столицы. Он входит в число древних городов, образующих так называемое Золотое Кольцо России. Сергиев Посад привлекает туристов тем, что, пожалуй, это один из немногих русских городов, столь насыщенный памятниками старины.

Подробнее

Суздаль

Суздаль по праву считается туристическим центром "Золотого кольца" России. Все достопримечательности этого древнерусского города трудно перечислить. Множество памятников истории, пять монастырей и несколько десятков сохранившихся до наших дней церквей и храмов делают Суздаль городом-заповедником, который бережно хранит свою древнюю топографию и непередаваемый колорит русской архитектуры. В городе нет промышленных предприятий, запрещено возведение высоких зданий – это позволяет во всей красе показать уникальное мастерство русских зодчих, подаривших нам множество исторических памятников и построек.

Суздаль располагается на живописном берегу реки Каменки, именно по ней раньше проходил один из главных торговых путей древней Руси. Во времена правления Юрия Долгорукого городу был присвоен статус столицы Владимиро-Суздальского княжества, Москва была одной из его крепостей, предназначенных для обороны. Точная дата образования города неизвестна, первое упоминание о нем относится к 1024 г. По историческим данным, в 11-12 вв. в городе началось строительство укрепленного Кремля в устье Каменки, который был окружен со всех сторон земляными валами со сторожевыми башнями. А в центре суздальского Кремля, по указанию Владимира Мономаха был возведен собор Успения Богородицы – один из наиболее древних архитектурных памятников России.

Самым успешным временем для развития Суздаля была первая половина 12 в. Растет сословие купцов, активно осваиваются территории восточного направления. Как грибы после дождя растут торговые лавки и мастерские, которые образовывают небольшой самостоятельный пригород – Посад. Юрий Долгорукий, прозванный так за неистребимое желание завоевывать чужие земли, в целях безопасности построил недалеко от города, в Кидекше, укрепленную крепость. В 1152 г. на ее территории была возведена церковь Бориса и Глеба, названная так в честь его предков, причисленных к лику святых. Она положила начало белокаменному зодчеству на северо-востоке Руси. Продолжали традицию церковного строительства и другие правители Суздаля.

Последующие годы стали трагическими в истории этого древнего русского города. В 1238 г. Суздаль захватили татары, лишь небольшой части жителей удалось укрыться за стенами Ризоположенского монастыря. Город был сожжен и разграблен, население угнано в Орду. Оставшиеся в живых более пятнадцати лет отстраивали Суздаль заново, большое внимание уделяя возведению новых храмов и монастырей. Так, на берегу Каменки появился Александровский монастырь, чуть дальше, в восточной части города – Васильевский монастырь, а недалеко от Ризоположенского – Троицкий монастырь. И если политическое влияние Суздаля постепенно слабело, то его религиозное значение росло с каждым годом. Город являлся центром епископства, а с 1507 г., после открытия мощей святого Евфимия, стал еще и заветной целью для религиозных паломников. Православные ехали со всей Руси, монастыри богатели, а в Суздале началось строительство каменных построек разного назначения. Женский монастырь Покрова Пресвятой Богородицы, например, исполнял роль тюрьмы для неугодных женщин царского и боярского рода, которых ссылали сюда вместо смертной казни.

Много бедствий городу принес 17 век. С 1608 г. он находился под гнетом польско-литовских завоевателей и только в 1611 г. его освободили войска Минина и Пожарского. В 1634 г. его разграбили татары, а спустя десять лет в Суздале произошел огромный пожар, в огне которого сгорели чудом уцелевшие после военных набегов постройки. В довершение всех бед, мировая язва, случившаяся в городе во второй половине 17 в., унесла более половины населения многострадального Суздаля. Оставшиеся в живых жители возвели в память об этом событии часовню, которую чуть позже заменили капитальной каменной Кресто-Никольской церковью. С приходом к власти Петра I влияние монастырей и церквей в России заметно ослабевает, но Суздаль продолжает оставаться мощным религиозным центром. Поток паломников не ослабевает, что позволяет властям города продолжать строительство каменных церквей и колоколен. В 1707 г. возводится Входо-Иерусалимская и Цареконстантиновская церкви, чуть позже Воскресенская, Иоанна-Предтечинская и Скорбященская, а в 1772 г. – Пятницкая церковь.

В наши дни Суздаль представляет крупный туристический центр и входит во Владимиро-Суздальский музей-заповедник. Многие архитектурные постройки города внесены в список Всемирного Наследия ЮНЕСКО и являются памятниками древней Руси. В городе есть много интересных экспозиций и музеев, рассказывающих об истории Суздаля и жизни его горожан.

Дом крестьянина-середняка. Это жилая постройка 19 в., типичная для того времени. Внутри дома воссоздан интерьер и детали быта суздальского крестьянина, а во дворе – комплекс хозяйственных и подсобных построек. Дом купца Лихонина создан по тому же принципу и представляет собой купеческий дом, построенный в 18 в.

Музей деревянного зодчества и крестьянского быта. Был составлен из построек 17-19 вв., привезенных на берег Каменки с разных мест Суздальской и Владимирской областей. Внутри уникального архитектурного ансамбля сохранены предметы деревенского быта и домашняя утварь того времени.

Хотя город на протяжении всей истории неоднократно разрушался и страдал от пожаров, он сумел возродиться и сохранить свои исторические и культурные корни. Юрий Долгорукий, Владимир Мономах, Александр Невский и Дмитрий Пожарский – множество знаменитых людей были так или иначе связаны с суздальской землей. И сегодня в городе есть все условия для интересного и полноценного отдыха: великолепная природа, музеи и памятники, комфортабельные гостиницы – Суздаль готов встретить своих гостей по всем законам русского гостеприимства.