En Ru
Golden heritage
of Russia
Golden Ring
of Russia
Ростов Великий

Rostov the Great

Rostov takes one of the most important places in the Golden Ring of Russia. In spite of its old age – over 1000 years, this city remains interesting for the tourists thanks to its rich history and unique monuments of architectural and cultural heritage.

Read more
Ярославль

Yaroslavl

One of the oldest and the most beautiful Russian cities on the Volga river - Yaroslavl celebrates its millennium in 2010. The opinions of historians about the date of its foundation are different, but 1010 is considered to be the most correct. The city always played an important part in the history of Russia.

Read more
Сергиев Посад

Sergiev Posad

It had been known until quite recently under the name of Zagorsk. Sergiev Posad enters the number of towns, which enters the so called Golden Ring of Russia. It attracts many tourists because this is one of a few Russian cities full of ancient monuments.

Read more

Vladimir

Amazingly beautiful town with its thousand-year history Vladimir is located in the very heart of the country, in its European part. It is considered to be one of the most notable cities of Golden Ring of Russia thanks to great number of historical and cultural monuments, unique nature, profitable economic and transport location. And there is every reason for it.

The location of the town was determined by strong fortress, which was built by Vladimir Monomakh on the bank of the Klyazma river in 1108. The borders of the fortress were numerous deep gullies. They surrounded the fortress from all sides. Big dirt walls and wooden walls were built by the builders along the perimeter of the fortress. You can use them to watch out for the enemy. The new fortification point was named after its founder Vladimir.

The Monomakh’s son Yury Dolgorukiy lost interest in the struggle for Kiev throne and started inhabiting northern lands intensively. They were rich in natural resources and free from large-scale town building. Moscow, Pereslavl-Zalesky, Dmitrov, Zvenigorod and etc. were founded as a result of his activity. In Vladimir Yury Dolgorukiy built princely yard with white-stone church named after Georgiy, his tutelary saint. The yard was located in the southern part of the town, strengthening the fortress capabilities, which were perfect even without it.

The town rapidly developed, new buildings, churches and monasteries appeared. New governor of Vladimir Andrey Bogolubsky, Yury Dolgorukiy’s son, made the town the capital of Vladimir princedom and started grand construction, which strengthened the might of the town and made it more influential. Brother’s work was continued by Vsevolod the Big Nest who received this nickname thanks to his numerous descendants. This was the golden age of Vladimir town building.

The town was subjected to attack of Tatars in 1238 and was completely fired and destroyed. Moscow state gained strength and the former capital of Vladimir princedom entered the state as a usual town. Stone construction resumed from time to time, but multiple attacks and plunders reduced the efforts of the architects to minimum. In spite of it, the town has kept the biggest part of its architectural and historical monuments, which still amaze the guests with its uniqueness and variety. The town started growing and its newly-built houses moved out of the fortress. The settlements appeared one after another – Yamskaya, Streletskaya, Varvarka and etc. Intricate winding streets twined about the town, old wooden houses were gradually replaced by stony buildings. Vladimir received the status of the centre of the province in1719, then it became the centre of the region ruled by governor-general and it became the capital of Vladimir province in 1796.

Vladimir is a regional centre with well-developed industry, huge educational base, rich cultural and historical inheritance. Big number of Russian and foreign tourists come to the city and every tourist finds something interesting and knowledgeable there.

Golden gates

The construction built at the times of Andrey Bogolubskiy is a main entrance to the territory of ancient Vladimir. All notable and distinguished guests of the city were met here and the warriors were sent to war here. Besides, the gates are well adapted for the defense. Now the war historical diorama, which demonstrates weapon and military uniform of different times, is located at the place.

Dmitriev Cathedral

It was built in 1194-1197 in the name of saint Dmitriy Solunsky dedicated to the birth of the prince’s son. This is a typical example of Russian architecture of the 12th century in its composition. The laconic architecture with simple forms gives simple and grand view to the cathedral.

The Dormition Cathedral

Built in 1158-1160 by Prince Andrey, the cathedral was initially devised as a first capital cathedral church. Later the side galleries were added to it and the Alter was widened. Wall paintings of brilliant artist Andrey Rublev have remined in the Assumption Cathedral until now.

The Knyaginin Convent

The convent was built in the 13th century by the princess Maria and served as a family burial vault for females of Vladimir princely house. The princess Maria with her sister, daughter and wife of Alexander Nevsky were buried there at different times.

The Christmas Monastery

It was founded by prince Vsevolod as a monastery in 1191. Famous military leader Alexander Nevsky was buried there. There is a Vladimir-Suzdal Episcopal residence there in our days.

The Church of St. Nicolas the Miracle-Worker

The church was built on the place of the burnt wooden church in 1761. The influence of baroque style hasn’t affected the brains of town builders, therefore the architecture of the church is simple and is deprived of the pretentious décor. There is a city planetarium in this building at present.

Vladimir historical museum is of big interest to guests of the city. It was founded in 1854 on the order of principal committee. The building of the museum was renovated not long ago and the initial look was given back to it again. All those who wish can visit the new exhibition, telling about the history and unique nature of Vladimir region, famous people, who influenced its formation and development.

Architectural and cultural monuments of the city are united together to form the State Vladimir-Suzdal culture preserve created in 1956. There are 56 historical monuments of Suzdal, Gus Khrustalny and other towns. The directors’ office and several notable expositions are located in Vladimir, giving the guests of the city a remarkable opportunity to become absorbed into legendary past of the region.

En Ru
Золотое наследие
Земли Русской
Золотое кольцо России
Ростов Великий

Ростов Великий

В созвездии городов, составляющих "Золотое кольцо" Ростов Великий занимает по праву одно из главных мест. Несмотря на свой солидный возраст – более 1000 лет, этот город по-прежнему остается интересным для туристов, благодаря своей богатой истории и уникальным памятникам архитектурного и культурного наследия.

Подробнее
Ярославль

Ярославль

Один из старейших и красивейших русских городов на Волге – Ярославль, отмечающий в 2010 г свое тысячелетие. Мнения историков о годе основания города расходятся, но 1010 г считается наиболее достоверной датой. Город всегда играл важную роль в российской истории.

Подробнее
Сергиев Посад

Сергиев Посад

Этот город, до недавних пор носивший имя Загорск, расположен на расстоянии семидесяти километров от столицы. Он входит в число древних городов, образующих так называемое Золотое Кольцо России. Сергиев Посад привлекает туристов тем, что, пожалуй, это один из немногих русских городов, столь насыщенный памятниками старины.

Подробнее

Владимир

В самом сердце нашей страны, в ее европейской части располагается удивительно красивый город с тысячелетней историей – Владимир. Благодаря множеству исторических и культурных памятников, уникальной природе и выгодному экономико-транспортному положению он по праву считается одним из самых примечательных городов "Золотого Кольца" России.

Местоположение города определила мощная крепость, которую Владимир Мономах построил на крутом берегу реки Клязьмы в 1108 г. Границами крепости служили многочисленные глубокие овраги, которые окружали ее со всех сторон. По всему периметру крепости строители возвели огромные земляные валы с деревянными стенами, с которых отлично просматривалась округа. Новый укрепленный пункт назвали в честь его основателя – Владимир.

Сын Мономаха князь Юрий Долгорукий, охладев к борьбе за киевский престол, начал интенсивно осваивать северные земли, богатые природными ресурсами и свободные для масштабного градостроительства. В результате его активной деятельности были основаны Москва, Переславль-Залесский, Дмитров, Звенигород и др. Во Владимире Юрий Долгорукий построил княжеский двор с новой белокаменной церковью во имя Георгия, своего небесного покровителя. Двор располагался на южной стороне города, усиливая и без того отличную оборонительную способность крепости.

Город стремительно развивался, появлялись новые здания, церкви и монастыри. Новый правитель Владимира Андрей Боголюбский, сын Юрия Долгорукого, сделал его столицей Владимирского княжества и начал грандиозное строительство, которое еще больше укрепило мощь города и придало ему влияния. Продолжил дело брата и Всеволод Большое Гнездо, получивший свое прозвище, благодаря многочисленному потомству. Это был "золотой век" владимирского градостроения.

В 1238 г. город подвергся нападению татар и был почти полностью сожжен и разрушен. Московское государство набирало силу, и бывшая столица Владимирского княжества в 14 в. вошла в его состав рядовым городом. Каменное строительство во Владимире периодически возобновлялось, но многочисленные набеги и грабежи сводили к минимуму старания зодчих. Несмотря на это, город сохранил большую часть своих архитектурных и исторических памятников, которые до сих пор удивляют гостей своей уникальностью и разнообразием. Постепенно город стал расширяться, выдвигаясь новостройками за пределы крепости. Вокруг вырастали одна за другой слободы – Ямская, Стрелецкая, Варварка и др. Владимир оплетался причудливо изогнутыми улицами, а старые деревянные дома постепенно вытеснялись каменными постройками. В 1719 г. Владимир получил статус центра провинции, затем стал центром наместничества, а в 1796 г. – столицей Владимирской губернии.

Сегодня Владимир является областным центром с прекрасно развитой промышленностью, огромной образовательной базой, богатым культурным и историческим наследием. В город приезжает большое количество туристов, как российских, так и зарубежных, и каждый находит в нем что-то интересное и познавательное для себя.

Золотые ворота.

Сооружение времен Андрея Боголюбского, представляет парадный въезд на территорию древнего Владимира. Здесь встречали всех именитых и дорогих гостей города, провожали воинов на битву с врагами. Кроме того, ворота были прекрасно приспособлены для оборонительных целей. Сегодня здесь располагается военно-историческая диорама, демонстрирующая оружие и военное обмундирование различных временных эпох.

Дмитриевский собор

Построен в 1194-1197 гг. в честь святого Дмитрия Солунского в связи с рождением княжеского сына. По своей композиции является типичным образцом русского зодчества 12 в. Лаконичная архитектура с простыми формами придает собору строгий и величественный вид.

Успенский собор

Возведенный в 1158-1160 гг. князем Андреем, собор изначально задумывался как первопрестольный кафедральный храм. В более позднее время к нему были пристроены боковые галереи, расширен алтарь. В Успенском соборе до сих пор сохранились фрески гениального живописца Андрея Рублева.

Княгинин монастырь

Монастырь был построен в 13 в. княгиней Марией, он служил родовой усыпальницей для представительниц княжеского владимирского дома. В разное время здесь нашли свой последний приют княгиня Мария с сестрой, дочь и жена великого Александра Невского.

Рождественский монастырь

Основан в 1191 г. князем Всеволодом как мужской монастырь. Под его сводами был погребен известный полководец Александр Невский. В наши дни на территории монастыря располагается Владимиро-Суздальская архиерейская резиденция.

Церковь Николая Чудотворца

Церковь построена на месте сгоревшего деревянного храма в 1761 г. Влияние стиля барокко тогда еще не сильно захватило умы градостроителей, поэтому архитектура церкви проста и лишена вычурного декора. Сегодня в здании церкви находится городской планетарий.

Большой интерес у гостей города вызывает Владимирский исторический музей, который был основан в 1854 г. по распоряжению губернского комитета. Здание музея недавно было реконструировано, восстановлено в своем первоначальном виде. Все желающие могут посетить новую выставку, рассказывающую об истории и уникальной природе владимирского края, знаменитых людях, которые оказали влияние на его становление и развитие.

Архитектурные и культурные памятники города объединены в Государственный Владимиро-Суздальский музей-заповедник, созданный в1956 г. В его состав входят еще 56 исторических памятников Суздаля, Гусь-Хрустального и других городов. Дирекция музея и несколько примечательных экспозиций располагаются во Владимире, предоставляя гостям города замечательную возможность окунуться в легендарное прошлое этого края.