En Ru
Golden heritage
of Russia
Golden Ring
of Russia
Ростов Великий

Rostov the Great

Rostov takes one of the most important places in the Golden Ring of Russia. In spite of its old age – over 1000 years, this city remains interesting for the tourists thanks to its rich history and unique monuments of architectural and cultural heritage.

Read more
Ярославль

Yaroslavl

One of the oldest and the most beautiful Russian cities on the Volga river - Yaroslavl celebrates its millennium in 2010. The opinions of historians about the date of its foundation are different, but 1010 is considered to be the most correct. The city always played an important part in the history of Russia.

Read more
Сергиев Посад

Sergiev Posad

It had been known until quite recently under the name of Zagorsk. Sergiev Posad enters the number of towns, which enters the so called Golden Ring of Russia. It attracts many tourists because this is one of a few Russian cities full of ancient monuments.

Read more

Yaroslavl

One of the oldest and the most beautiful Russian cities on the Volga river - Yaroslavl celebrates its millennium in 2010. The opinions of historians about the date of its foundation are different, but 1010 is considered to be the most correct. The city always played an important part in the history of Russia. One can remember how the troops of Minin and Pozharsky, the military leaders of liberation army, were gathered here in the Times of Troubles in the 17th century. Besides, Yarolavl was always a support of Russian state rulers. It was Yaroslavl which played an important part in the union of Russian lands in the 15th century.

The most famous sight of Yaroslavl is a Savior Transfiguration Monastery, which was founded at the end of the 12th century. The monastery is closely connected with t he history of the city and history of Russia. The Polish attacked its walls in 1609 and in 1619 troops of Minin and Pozharsky went from there to drive away the Polish and remove the false Dmitry from the throne.

Michael, the founder of the Romanovs dynasty, sent the letter from these walls with the agreement to come to the throne. Russian tsars never forgot about it and monastery was a special place for all members of Romanov family.

Ivan the Terrible, the Russian tsar, always came here and always granted some lands to the monastery and other benefits. About 55 letters of privilege of this kind are known to us now. The copy of the ancient literary work “The Tale of Igor's Campaign” was discovered in the monastery in the beginning of the 18th century.

There were many fires and reconstructions in the monastery. The walls you can see now were built in the beginning of the 18th century. Here the Yaroslavl State Historical and Architectural Museum Preserve is located, which has a rich collection of icons and church items. The sight of monastery complex, the Church of Yaroslavl Miracle Workers was built in 1825-31. There was a fire in it after the church was built and it was rebuilt and sanctified in 1833.

There is one of the oldest Russian convents near Yaroslavl – the Tolgskaya cloister, founded in 1314. It has been working since 1987 and tourists can come here alongside with pilgrims. One of the nuns will meet you and show you around the place. She will take you to church of Tolgskaya Mother of God Icon. You can see about 30 big churches in Yaroslavl, which belong to architectural and historical monuments. 23 of them have a status of Federal level.

One of such monuments is the Ilia the Foreteller Church, built in the 17th century. Rich decoration of the church makes it the most interesting monument of Yaroslavl and it is the only sight, which remained the way it was before. Now the buildings of the church belong to the museum, but the church still works. The Theophany church of the 17th century is located not far from the Savior Transfiguration church. The influence of Moscow architects is felt in the architecture, which is not characteristic for Yaroslavl of that time.

It is worth seeing one more place of interest in Yaroslavl of world class level. This is a Temple Ensemble in Korovniki on the bank of the Volga river. It is known for its bell-tower built at the end of the 17th century.

One can see stone, which was put on the place of the city foundation. It is located not far from the river. Yaroslavl summerhouse, built in the 18th century, became the symbol of the city. You can see it on the postcards, calendars and souvenirs. It is also worth visiting the History Museum of Yaroslavl, the first private museum “Music and Time”, historical and architectural monuments – Arsenalnaya Tower, Il’ino Tikhvinskaya, Annunciation and Resurrection churches – just to mention a few.

The city is like a big museum under the sky – even the fire looking tower dating back to the 19th century remained there. The centre of Yaroslavl was included by UNESCO to the world cultural heritage in 2005.

The place is different from Moscow. Nobody hurries to destroy, remove and rebuild here, therefore there are a lot of old patriarchal merchants’ houses, two-storeyed and three-storeyed buildings of the past in Yaroslavl and its suburbs. They create unforgettable atmosphere of the old Russian city on the Volga river. The nature is also amazing and gives much joy for travelers, leaving warm memories in his heart about Yaroslavl.

En Ru
Золотое наследие
Земли Русской
Золотое кольцо России
Ростов Великий

Ростов Великий

В созвездии городов, составляющих "Золотое кольцо" Ростов Великий занимает по праву одно из главных мест. Несмотря на свой солидный возраст – более 1000 лет, этот город по-прежнему остается интересным для туристов, благодаря своей богатой истории и уникальным памятникам архитектурного и культурного наследия.

Подробнее
Ярославль

Ярославль

Один из старейших и красивейших русских городов на Волге – Ярославль, отмечающий в 2010 г свое тысячелетие. Мнения историков о годе основания города расходятся, но 1010 г считается наиболее достоверной датой. Город всегда играл важную роль в российской истории.

Подробнее
Сергиев Посад

Сергиев Посад

Этот город, до недавних пор носивший имя Загорск, расположен на расстоянии семидесяти километров от столицы. Он входит в число древних городов, образующих так называемое Золотое Кольцо России. Сергиев Посад привлекает туристов тем, что, пожалуй, это один из немногих русских городов, столь насыщенный памятниками старины.

Подробнее

Ярославль

Один из старейших и красивейших русских городов на Волге – Ярославль, отмечающий в 2010 г свое тысячелетие. Мнения историков о годе основания города расходятся, но 1010 г считается наиболее достоверной датой. Город всегда играл важную роль в российской истории, достаточно вспомнить, что именно в Ярославле собиралось ополчение Минина и Пожарского в Смутное время, что именно Ярославль считался оплотом русских государей, именно Ярославль стоял у истоков российской государственности в деле объединения русских земель в 15 веке.

Известнейшая достопримечательность Ярославля – Спасо-Преображенский монастырь, основанный в конце 12 века. Монастырь тесно связан с историей города и историей России. В 1609 году его стены выдержали натиск поляков, а в 1612 году именно отсюда выступило на Москву ополчение Минина и Пожарского, изгнавшее поляков и покончившее с Самозванцем на русском троне.

Из стен этого монастыря родоначальник династии Романовых Михаил отправил грамоту о своем согласии занять московский престол. Российские цари никогда не забывали об этом, и монастырь, как и сам Ярославль, пользовался особым расположением дома Романовых.

Монастырь часто посещал и Иван Грозный, известно 55 его грамот с жалованием монастырю земель и различных льгот. В начале 18 века в Спасо-Преображенском монастыре обнаружена рукопись древнейшего русского литературного произведения – «Слово о полку Игореве».

Монастырь неоднократно горел и перестраивался. Стены, которые можно увидеть сегодня, возведены уже в начале 18 века. Сейчас здесь расположен Ярославский государственный историко-архитектурный и художественный музей-заповедник, обладающий богатейшей коллекцией икон и церковной утвари. Достопримечательностью монастырского комплекса является церковь Ярославских чудотворцев, построенная в 1825 -31 годах. Сразу же по постройке храм горел, и в 1833 году был отстроен и освящен заново.

Под Ярославлем находится еще один из старейших российских монастырей – Толгская обитель, основанная в 1314 г. С 1987 года это действующий женский монастырь, он доступен для посещения туристам и паломникам. В воротах встретит одна из сестер, проведет по территории и в храм чудотворной Толгской иконы Божией Матери.

Проезжая по Ярославлю, можно увидеть более 30 больших церквей, являющихся памятниками архитектуры и истории города, 23 из них имеют статус памятников федерального уровня.

Один из таких памятников - церковь Ильи Пророка 17 века. Богатое убранство церкви делает этот храм интереснейшим памятником Ярославля, практически единственным, сохранившимся в первозданном виде. Сейчас строения храма служат одновременно и музеем, и действующей церковью.

Интересна и расположенная недалеко от Спасо-Преображенского монастыря церковь Богоявления 17 века, в архитектуре которой прослеживается влияние московских зодчих, нехарактерное для Ярославля того времени.

Недалеко от города стоит увидеть еще одну достопримечательность Ярославля мирового уровня – храмовый ансамбль в Коровниках, на берегу Волги. Он славится самой стройной в России колокольней конца 17 века.

На набережной Волги можно увидеть камень, воздвигнутый на месте закладки города, памятники известным людям Ярославля. Беседка 18 века на Волжской набережной стала одним из городских символов, ее изображение можно увидеть на сувенирах, открытках и календарях. На набережной расположен и Музей истории Ярославля, первый в России частный музей «Музыка и Время», историко-архитектурные памятники - Арсенальная башня, Ильинско-Тихвинская, Благовещенская и Вознесенская церкви – всего не перечислить.

Сам город выглядит как один большой музей под открытым небом – в Ярославле сохранилась даже пожарная каланча 19 века. С 2005 года исторический центр Ярославля включен ЮНЕСКО в число памятников мирового культурного наследия.

В отличие от Москвы, тут никто не спешит ломать, сносить и перестраивать - патриархальные купеческие дома, двух-трех этажные постройки позапрошлого века наполняют Ярославль и пригороды, создавая неповторимую атмосферу старинного русского города на Волге. Да и природа ярославских окрестностей, волжские берега, многочисленные речки и протоки неизменно радуют глаз путешественника, оставляя в его душе теплое воспоминание о ярославской земле и городе Ярославле.